• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Alaska: What’s at Stake on Election Day 2016

Regardless of party or presidential preference, I think you should go out and vote. Democracy wins when we’re all more engaged. Aside from deciding what legislators stay in or leave, we in Alaska have these two ballot propositions:

Ballot Measure No. 1
An Act Allowing Qualified Individuals to Register to Vote When Applying for a Permanent Fund Dividend.

Ballot Measure No. 2
Allow Debt for Postsecondary Student Loans

Due to self-imposed restrictions based on MPOW, I will not offer any recommendations on legislators. But I do want to explain why I plan to vote against both ballot measures.

On Ballot Measure No. 1 I think our biggest problem is turnout. I believe we need to figure out how to motivate people already registered to vote to get to the polls before expanding registration efforts. Especially since this will make more work for a staff already burdened with long call queues.

I’m against Ballot Measure No. 2 simply because our Legislature will not look at new funding sources. This rejection of additional funding combined with refusal to meaningfully cut is something that has already downgraded our bonds several times this year. Until such time as the Alaska Legislature chooses to stop spending our savings and enact new revenue sources, I plan to vote against any and all bond issues.

If you’re unsure of your voting status or the voting process here in Alaska, watch this video – then take action:

