• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Palliative Care: Why Spend If You Won’t Tax? (Rep. Young)

$44,100,000

via Text – H.R.3119 – 114th Congress (2015-2016): Palliative Care and Hospice Education and Training Act | Congress.gov | Library of Congress.

Rep. Don Young cosponsored this bill establishing grants and other measures aimed at increasing the amount of training doctors receive in palliative care. I applaud this concept, but feel I do need to point out that by cosponsoring this bill, Rep. Young is supportingĀ $44,100,000 in additional spending for “for each of the fiscal years 2016 through 2020.” Given his opposition to raising income and/or corporate taxes, I have to question where this money for palliative care education will come from. In the absence of a specific offsetting cut elsewhere, it seems like it will require more borrowing. This does not seem fiscally responsible to me. If you object to raising taxes, you ought not to support creating new programs. You should be focused on cutting existing one.

Don’t misunderstand me, I am supportive of this concept and I would willingly pay more taxes to have it. Or cut down on our budget for drone strikes. But I don’t support and spend on a permanent basis. We need to decide what we as a nation are willing to pay for, then pay it.

