• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Day 1: Celebrating Marriage Equality

image

My “Write Every Day” process hit a snag in June. I traveled twice. Once to Anchorage on business for a week and a vacation/American Library Association business in San Francisco. I find it hard to write from the road, so I let my streak lapse.

Today we resume with the photo above. The American Library Association Annual Conference coincided with Pride Week in San Francisco. The picture above is from a bar in San Francisco’s Mission District the day that the US Supreme Court proclaimed marriage equality the law of the land. The mood everywhere we went that night was jubilant. So many people were so happy. The mood continued throughout the weekend. It was a great place to be regardless of sexual orientation.

I felt privileged to be there and happy that the Court found that any two consenting adults could marry. I firmly believe that is the right choice in a secular society.

