• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Book Review: An Appetite for Murder

An Appetite for Murder
An Appetite for Murder by Lucy Burdette
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I found this book as a result of Twitter. As a librarian and author of the Writer’s Guide to Government Information, I sometimes get authors following me.

I don’t always follow back, but @LucyBurdette‘s profile said she was an author of a series based on a food critic living in Key West Florida. I think Key West is beautiful. I also appreciate food and mysteries, so I followed her back and asked what the first book in her series was. I didn’t realize till later that she is also one of the people who write the Jungle Red Writers blog, a blog I enjoy for its friendliness, wit and food references.

An Appetite for Murder has appealing characters, plausible situations and honestly kept me guessing till the murderer was revealed. I also liked how a gay couple was worked into the script as just two more characters. One partner was a psychologist friend of the protagonist who just happened to be gay.

As you would expect from a food based mystery, there are many descriptions of food. These are done well, whether set in a restaurant or if it’s something the main character is making for her friends. As a bonus, a few of the dishes mentioned in the book have recipes at the end.

There was nothing in the story that really set my head shaking and brought me out of the story. It was a great read for a weekend and I will definitely be checking out the other books in the series.

View all my reviews

