• Categories

  • Housekeeping

In Praise of the Juneau Public Libraries

Disclosure: I am a librarian and chair of my local chapter of the Alaska Library Association. But everything below is true.

Attention Juneau People!

I just wanted to put in a plug for our great library system. Last night my wife and I spent several hours at the downtown branch. She was studying for work and I was using the library’s wifi to take an astronomy course from Australia National University. A few weeks ago we both got books. About a month ago, I used the library’s website to download some legal music that helped me get through the day at work. The Juneau Public Libraries have a lot to offer and a lot going on. I find them more of a need than a want. I hope that the CBJ Assembly understand this as they face difficult budget choices ahead.

