• Categories

  • Housekeeping

A summary of some of the oral arguments in the Prop 8 case before the Supreme Court.

The Dish

US-JUSTICE-GAY-MARRIAGE

As we know, it’s foolish to predict a decision based on oral arguments (pdf). So I won’t. But since I’ve been arguing this question most of my adult life, I figured it would make sense to see who I think got the better of the case. Some of the issues are beyond my skill-set: I’m not qualified to answer on the somewhat esoteric issue of standing – except that it is clearly at issue here and may give a deadlocked court a way out.

This exchange was the most clarifying on that matter:

JUSTICE SOTOMAYOR: — Justice Scalia proffered the question of the Attorney General. The Attorney General has no personal interest.

MR. COOPER: True.

JUSTICE SOTOMAYOR: He has a fiduciary obligation.

But no such obligation exists for the five (now four) individuals claiming to be harmed by the striking down of Proposition 8. Here is how Olson…

View original post 2,431 more words

