• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Letting denial of service attack push you into firing people is probably not the best way to keep your business free of outside influence.

The Dish

Google software engineer Julie Pagano describes the “death by 1000 paper cuts” that comes from being a woman in the tech industry:

The cuts started early. I’m discouraged and humiliated in math classes throughout my school years to the point where I still get anxious doing math in front of others despite being good at it in private.  A high school teacher tells me that I shouldn’t go to college for engineering, but instead something nurturing (you know, what women are good for). My college classes have next to no women in them. A professor makes creepy comments about “geeky girls” during class. One of my few female classmates tells me she’s just doing this to prove her father wrong. …

Every time I try to push to make things better, I am guaranteed a patronizing response from someone. If I had a dollar for every time someone suggested that some…

View original post 191 more words

One Response

  1. This led me down a rabbit hole of interesting reads. I particularly liked this Slideshare deck: http://www.slideshare.net/terriko/how-does-biology-explain-the-low-numbers-of-women-in-cs-hint-it-doesnt

Comments are closed.

