• Categories

  • Housekeeping

The Apostle James Predicted My Lack of a Predictable Day

James 4:13-14 says:

Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we shall go into such and such a town, spend a year there doing business, and make a profit”— you have no idea what your life will be like tomorrow.* You are a puff of smoke that appears briefly and then disappears.

This was first stated nearly 2,000 years ago, but events of today reminded how true these verses still are.

When I woke up this morning, I had a plan to make tomorrow (SAT) optimally productive for working on my National Novel Writing Month project. I was going to skip the weekly Waffle House meeting at 1pm, partly because none of my group was there last night, but mostly because I didn’t want to spend time in tomorrow’s predicted cold weather on the off chance of writing fellowship. Far better to hole up in my home office with the wife away for the weekend.

Then a friend asked me to take her to the airport. When? “Getting to the airport around noon would be great.” The airport is about two thirds of the way to the Waffle House, so why not go, I thought? Another friend, who listened in on the ride arrangements declared her intention to do Waffle House writing and that I should make her be the one to be all alone at the Waffle House.

Ok. So count on being out of the house from 11:30 to about 3:30ish. No problem. I like the sausage and bacon waffles and if a member of my writing group is going to be there, it’s worth going out. Especially if I have to be out of the house anyway.

Then I started imagining how productive the morning could be. Then I got a call from my hair stylist. Really! She left a message saying that I had a 9am appointment on Saturday. As soon as I heard the message, I remembered making the appointment.

So, instead of a solid 7am-ish – 10pm-ish block of writing time with meal breaks, I’ve got a day broken up into medium sized chunks that I’ll enjoy doing. Unless something else changes. The Apostle James knew that my plans would change 2000 years ago. Why am I still so slow to accept that? We truly do not know what will happen tomorrow. I still don’t know what will actually transpire tomorrow and neither do you.

