• Categories

  • Housekeeping

DBAA: Corporations Search by Ginny Jacobs

Today we have a first – a guest blogger for Alaskan Librarian. I’ll let Ginny introduce herself in a moment. I just wanted to take a moment to thank her for doing this more in depth than usual posting. I also wanted to briefly outline my views towards other potential guest bloggers since I was recently “cold-emailed” by someone I’d never heard of peddling topics I didn’t care about.

If you want to guest blog here, you should:

  • Either know me in person, be an e-mail correspondent or at least a frequent commenter on this blog.
  • Want to write about a subject that appears on this blog.

With those guidelines out of the way, I think you’ll really like what follows. Take it away Ginny!

Hi, My name is Ginny Jacobs and I’ve been following Daniel’s Alaskan Librarian Blog for several years.  In July when he started the Databases By Alaska Agencies (DBAA)
series, I was working as a registered agent representative. Because of my job, I used the Corporation Search database on daily basis and I had to explain how to navigate the database to lawyers, law officers and paralegals from all over the country. Now Daniel has kindly allowed me to share the following blog post with his readers. I hope you find it helpful.

Today’s Alaska agency database from the Alaska page of State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States is: Corporations Search

This database encompasses all entities qualified to do business in Alaska (present and past, foreign and domestic, business and nonprofit). It also includes documents filed
for business name reservations and business name registrations.  Most users will search by entity name but they also have the option of searching the database by Entity Number, Officer Name and Registered Agent.  Use the Corporations
Search
if you’re looking for a mailing or physical address of an entity’s primary business office.

3 useful things you can do on the Corporations Search:

  • Print a hard copy of your entity next biennial report
  • View PDFs of documents submitted to the state
  • Find out the true owner of a business that’s operating under an assumed name or DBA (Doing Business As)

3 tips for getting the most accurate information from this database:

  • Click on the hyperlinked entity number in the initial search results to bring up the Entity Details page. This will show the entity’s Registered Agent, Owners, Officers and list of all documents the entity has filed with the state.
  • An entity’s status of “Good Standing” can be misleading. An entity is can owe up to two biennial report filings before their status is changed to “Non-Compliant”. To confirm an entity’s biennials are up to date check the Next Biennial Report Due field on the Entity Details page rather relying on the status listed in the search results.
  • Currently there is about a 15 day lag time between when a hard copy document is submitted to the state and when it is accessible on the Corporation Search database. Once a document is viewable online the original submit date is listed under  Date Filed. Documents filed using the online options are usually posted the same day.
