• Categories

  • Housekeeping

The Limits of Facebook

The other night I had dinner with an old friend who had moved out of town. I hadn’t realized he’d moved back to town six months ago. For his part, he was unaware that my Dad and all three of my elderly cats had died since December.

Funny thing is, we’re Facebook friends. He’d been posting about his return to Juneau for several months before he came back. When my Dad died, Facebook seemed like the easiest way to inform the most people about my Dad’s death and why I wasn’t responding to normal e-mails.

I don’t know if it was because we posted at different times and have a lot of FB “friends” or if Facebook noticed we only interacted lightly and helpfully hid our updates from each other.

In the end, it doesn’t matter. Even if the bulk of your friends are on Facebook, you shouldn’t expect posting Facebook updates to be a sufficient way to inform everybody who should be informed of important events in your life.

