• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Short Plea, Then Three Books on Cohoe

I’m back from two great weeks in Hawaii and next week I ought to have some pictures for you.

Before I left, I mentioned that I was running a survey on the “Three Books on …” series at  http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/NXT2B5N. To date, I have had ONE response. I asked readers of this blog to respond whether or not they read the Three Books series.  If you don’t read the series or don’t find it interesting, there is a question for you on how I could be better highlighting the relevance of library resources to Alaskans.

Based on site statistics, I’m hopeful that more than one of you has read the series. So please take this quick survey sometime in the next week.

 Now for the books on Cohoe that I promised.

—-

This week our “Three Books on …” series takes us to Cohoe. Here is a description of Cohoe’s location and climate from the Alaska Community Database:

Cohoe is located on the Kenai Peninsula on the west bank of the Kasilof River, 13 miles south of the City of Kenai on the Sterling Highway. The community lies at approximately 60.368030° North Latitude and -151.308600° West Longitude. (Sec. 11, T003N, R012W, Seward Meridian.) Cohoe is located in the Kenai Recording District. January temperatures range from 4 to 22 °F. July temperatures vary from 46 to 65 °F. Average annual precipitation is 20 inches.

You can learn more about Cohoe by reading their full profile from the Alaska Community Database.

Looking through WorldCat, we find only find one book with Cohoe as a subject:

Alaska. 1980. Material site report, M.S. 461-297-1, Cohoe Road, Kenai B-4. [Alaska]: The Section.

There are also couple of maps, including:

Kenai Peninsula Borough (Alaska). 2007. 2007 central emergency services, Cohoe Loop & vicinity mapbook. [Soldotna, Alaska]: Kenai Peninsula Borough, G.I.S. Division.

Kenai Peninsula Borough (Alaska). 2003. 2003 Cohoe Loop Emergency Services. [Soldotna, AK]: Kenai Peninsula Borough, G.I.S. Division.

I’ll have a fresh look at the survey results from http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/NXT2B5N and any comments to this post next weekend and decide the fate of the series then.

