• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Product Review: Acer Aspire One Netbook

Two weeks ago, I bought an Acer Aspire One Netbook. It’s light enough to hold in one hand. It has a 1.66 Ghz processor and a 250GB hard drive. It promises basic web and e-mailing.

So far, so good. I’ve travelled with it once. It was nice to have something that fit in my backpack so I didn’t have to choose between my CPAP machine, my backpack and my laptop case. The airlines only let you have two.

Although it’s small, the keyboard is pretty comfortable. I’ve blogged with it (mostly at the Lost Docs Blog). I installed Open Office on it and did my presentation slides for an upcoming talk. It is fully functional for my purposes.

Given the processor, it would probably choke on Second Life, but the manufacturer never promised me Information Island. Plus I haven’t been on for years. Not saying Second Life is bad or a fad, just not for me.

If you’re looking for a good “go anywhere” computer that will do all of your basic tasks without giving you shoulder aches, the Acer Aspire One could be your netbook. Unless you have to watch DVDs or rip CDs. No optical drive. But that’s what I’ve got other computers for.

