• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Gini Cornwall: 1937-2006

Hi All, while preparing paperwork for interring my parents at the Shrine of St. Therese Columbarium, I realized that this blog did not carry my post on my mother’s death in 2006. At that time I was an active participant at LISNews and posted my mom’s tribute to my LISNews Journal.

So that both my parents can be memorialized at Alaskan Librarian, here is what I wrote in March 2006:

March 26, 2006 – 8:53pm — Daniel

For people wondering why I’ve been so silent for the past week, it’s because I’ve been in California since my mother suffered a massive heart attack and went into a deep coma.

She never recovered. Today we lost her as a result of two subsequent heart attacks suffered during her coma.

As a librarian, I spent hours by her bedside reading her Mercedes Lackey novels, asking her to squeeze my hand after each page if she could either hear me or was simply sick of Fantasy/Sci-fi. I never got any reaction, but believe in my heart that she heard me on some level and was grateful for the company.

Viginia “Gini” Cornwall was a devoted wife and mother, a great cook and very tough. Although she didn’t get past eighth grade, she had a great love for learning and read me newspapers, magazines and books in my very early years. She always made time to take me to the public library in elementary school and junior high and supported my right to read adult level astronomy books that the circulation clerks thought were beyond me.

My mom taught me to be honest and to be loyal to family and friends. There is so much more I just can’t put into words right now, but I wanted to offer some memorial right away.

I was very fortunate that I spoke to my mom a few days before she died and had a chance to tell her that I loved her.

I’m not sure when my wife and I will return to Alaska and my ‘net access is spotty, so please forgive me if I do not respond to e-mail or comments very quickly.

I will let you know when I’m ready to resume regular programming on the Daniel’s Journal LISNews channel.

Take care, God Bless, and value your friends and family members. And fill out that living will, ok?

Sadly, neither my wife or I have filled out that living will. Maybe this year.

I mentioned my mom was a great cook. Much of what I know about cooking I learned from her. After she died, I photographed her handwritten notes on a cookbook she had hoped to publish at some point. I posted those photographs to Flickr. Here’s her recipe for Jambalaya:

New Orleans Creole Jumbalaya

Click through to get to the original sized picture, which is legible.

In the past, I’ve been too teary-eyed to make any of these recipes, but maybe now I can.

