• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Happy New Year!

Happy New Year to all my readers.

Overall, 2010 was a good year for me that included a lot of personal growth. At the beginning of December, my dad died, but this was not entirely unexpected. I went down to California to see him in the hospital before he died and brought my wife down for a memorial. We got someone to watch our cats. When we got back, our cat caregiver reported they hadn’t seen one of the cats for a day or so and couldn’t find her. The next day we found her body under the bathroom sink. Dee was 17, so this too wasn’t entirely unexpected.

Despite these very sad events, I stand by the assertion, that taken as a whole, 2010 was good for me. I started a new, challenging position at my workplace. I transformed my journal in April into a gratitude journal. I completed the 50,000 word challenge of National Novel Writing month in November and earlier in the year I hiked the Grand Canyon for the first time in my life. I also lost a lot of weight (though I’ve gained some of it back). So all in all, 2010 was good. It’d be nice of 2011 was similar except for not changing jobs and not having people or pets die on me this year.

I hope 2011 is good for you too!

