• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Constitution Monday: Why we have Congress

Note: Throughout this series, items that are hyperlinked were in the Constitution as written in 1787 but have since been amended or superseded.

Article I of the Constitution of the United States established the Legislative Branch, known as Congress. Here is Article I, Section I:

Section. 1.

All legislative Powers herein granted shall be vested in a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives.

Next Monday, we’ll look at Article I, Section 2, which establishes the decennial Census which will next be done in April 2010. It also contains a shameful episode in our past which directly contradicted the Declaration of Independence.

If you want to know what Constitution Monday is, check out my introductory post.

