• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Attacking Sarah Palin w/a blog isn’t Pedophila

Hi all, especially fellow readers of the Immoral Minority.

The rhetorical question I’m posing today is whether a blogger should lose his day job for comments unrelated to his workplace or profession and which do not confess to criminal activity. I say NO! I have backed up my NO with a $20 donation to Gryphen’s site and encourage you to do the same if you believe that the First Amendment means anything more than the permission to laud our leaders.

Why I am writing this post? Because of this sequence of events:

1) Gryphen posts a blog entry making an accusation against former Governor Sarah Palin based on interviews with his anonymous sources.
2) Sarah Palin, through spokespeople and personally, denies these charges. I have no reason to disbelieve her.
3) Her lawyer threatens to sue Gryphen for malicious false statements.

Had the sequence ended here, I’d have nothing to write or complain about. I question the wisdom of Gryphen focusing on the personal life of an ex-governor who has yet declared for President. In fact, I think his post was emergency oxygen for her followers who were starting to wonder where their leader was. I believe that Gryphen’s post put them right back in their comfort zone. Defending their heroine from rude bloggers using anonymous sources. Nonetheless, Gryphen’s right to publish what he believes to be the truth is guaranteed by our Constitution.

Our Constitution and our laws also give Governor Palin the right to publish her denials. They also give her the right to take Gryphen to court and make him prove his claims. The same laws gives Gryphen the right to depose the Governor and her family in his defense. Nothing wrong to me with any of that. So far, Palin does not appear to have sued ANY bloggers. I checked court records available through the state’s Court View system and while I found 12 cases as of 8/5/2009 listing Sarah Palin as one of the parties, none show her suing anybody. The Court View system covers Anchorage, Aniak, Barrow, Bethel, Chevak, Cordova, Delta Junction, Dillingham, Emmonak, Fairbanks, Fort Yukon, Galena, Glennallen, Healy, Kodiak, Kotzebue, McGrath, Naknek, Nenana, Nome, Palmer, St. Mary’s, Sand Point, Tanana, Tok, Unalakleet, Unalaska, and Valdez.

But the sequence didn’t end there. At least some pro-Palin bloggers have organized to try and get Gryphen dismissed from his position as a teacher’s aide at an Anchorage kindergarten. At least one blogger appears to imply that Gryphen is a pedophile:

Gryphen is actually Jesse Griffin, a divorced 48 year old part time kindergarten teacher at Trailside Elementary in Anchorage. My first question is what sort of 48 year old man works part time at a kindergarten?

Actually, teachers aides come from both genders and all walks of life. In addition, they need to pass state and federal criminal background checks to be hired by the school district, as stated in the Anchorage School District job application. Unless this blogger has some better evidence of pedophilia than a man’s age, perhaps she should be worried about a possible libel lawsuit.

The blogger also notes that Gryphen has made some “vile and disturbing quotes” on his blog. As a semi-regular reader of the Immoral Minority, I can attest to the fact that Gryphen does use profanity and I can see where some people could see some of his language as disturbing at times. But unless he uses such language in his classroom, that shouldn’t affect his job. I also need to add that during the time that I’ve been reading Gryphen, I haven’t seen him 1) Call to organize to fire a private citizen for expressing his or her views or 2) Advocate violence against the opposition. I have seen both on other blogs both left and right but especially among bloggers who support Sarah Palin.

Gryphen and I aren’t always on the same page. I accept Trig’s maternity. I believe that civility is key to getting your point of view across. I’m not sure Gryphen does. I believe that Governor Palin, while not Presidential material, made some positive contributions during her half-term in office and I mourn what might have been had she not chosen the path of divisiness and demonization of opponents. We do share a mutual belief that while far from perfect, President Obama is mostly doing his best to reverse the worst abuses of liberty and reason we believe were committed during the previous eight years.

But above all, I think Gryphen and I share a love of the Alaska and US Constitutions which guarantee freedom of speech. Not just correct speech. Not just speech flattering to poltical figures, but ALL speech. I can’t speak for Gryphen, but I would personally defend the right of an Obama “birther” to keep their job as a kindergarten aide provided that they kept their politics and foul, divisive language out of the classroom. I don’t like that kind of speech, I think it’s wildly inaccurate and irrational, but that doesn’t give anyone the right to deprive them of their livelihood.

If you support getting Gryphen fired for what you feel are unjustified attacks on former Governor Palin, what happens when your job gets threatened because of your attacks on Obama or support for SarahPac? I think people should keep or lose their jobs on their performance, not on their politics.

Finally, in view of the negative mail reaching his school, I asked Gryphen if he’d like people to suggest letters of support. He replied that he doesn’t want his school in the middle of this and ideally NO MORE MAIL, not even supportive mail should be sent to the school. I’m respecting this and I hope you will too.

I still wanted to show support in a tangible way and that’s why I donated $20 to Gryphen. He didn’t ask for it. I hope you will make a donation too. Just click on the button in the left hand corner of the Immoral Minority.

49 Responses

  1. Just want to say “thank you” for your consistently informed, articulate and, yes, civil, blog.

  2. Great post! I’m not sure why the minds of Palinbots go immediately to pedophilia when planning their lines of attack. I’m recalling the horrendous comments about Letterman and his infamous “mouth rape” and post after post on various blogs and HuffPo about how Letterman surely must be a pedophile. For folks calling themselves Christians, it’s particularly disgusting and vile.

  3. Thank you for your wise words and support for a fellow blogger.

  4. Thanks so much for your public support in this matter, especially since you are not in agreement with all of Gryph’s beliefs. I, like you, think there is a larger issue at stake here. Cheers, Pat in Texas

  5. I’ve followed those rather questionable bloggers since this began. For all their rabidity, as usual they are all bark and no bite. They’ve boxed themselves into a corner. Unless they are planning to somehow shut down the Internet to protect web-surfing kindergartners, all they can do is bluster and threaten for a little while longer, and then slink away when they run out of other options.

    Thanks for your post! I’ve recently discovered your blog and it’s very informative.

  6. Thanks for supporting Gryphen. The Crazies4Palin know that they are in there final death throes. Notice that $P & Toad are in NY. Hmmm…

  7. Very nice post. But, explain how a blogger lets people rant and rave for several days about the fact that he might be served in front of children at his school and he now says he planned on leaving that position 2 mos. ago. Also, school was not in session so there were no children there. In addition, the attorney gave him 3 location options for being served. SOUNDS kind of strange coming from a 48 year old man to let bloggers rant and rave about something he could have stopped days ago.

    Wouldn’t most mature adults kept the letter from Palin’s attorney private??

  8. I read all of your posts, and I am sorry that I haven’t taken the time to comment before this. This is one of your best posts, however. You demonstrate grace and the ability to disagree without being disagreeable. Your entire post is filled with wisdom, and I thank you for writing it.

  9. I think your posting this was supportive; I have in time past made a small donation to Gryphen and probably will do so again. The only thing I would say in response to this post is that Gryphen did not “attack” Sarah Palin with his blog; he simply stated that he had been told she and Todd were splitting up. That is non-judgemental, no attack, simply what he had been led to believe is a true state of “affairs” (not meant to be snarky).

  10. Thank you very much for this post supporting Gryphen. He is fortunate to have so many friends who let him know the past few days how much he and his blog is appreciated. As far as to what is in the minds of the right wing nuts, I can only say as someone who grew up in a strict, Southern Baptist home, you will never come across a group/organization of people who are so consumed with the subject of sex, whether it is with the opposite sex, the same sex or children. It is beyond disgusting.

  11. Sadly when you have a figure such as Sarah Palin, who has proven to be such a divisive national figure, it seems to bring the worst from the left & right.

    However reading your blog is a breathe of intellectual fresh air. The “outing’ of a blogger ,linking him to pedophila and potentially losing his employment is beyond the pale.

  12. Kudos to your blog. While many people many not agree on political views, this proud country gives us the freedom for that. Your third from last paragraph was especially insightful. I could only hope others start to rationalize the same way.

  13. Thank you for that sensible comment. I agree with virtually all you said.
    It IS possible for resonable persons to disagree and to disagree reasonably.

    I began reading Mud Flats shortly after the VP nomination, and continue to go there almost daily. It is unfortunate that a few Alaskans can’t deal with the blogsphere, but a blessing that Alaska has so many great bloggers, and that they support one another’s right to express themselves.
    Today I add another link, yours, to my collection of Alaskan Favorites.
    I just wish any of the three states I have worked in over the last 5 years could brag of the number and quality of Alaska’s PJ clad truth tellers.

  14. Hi Cammie,

    I don’t see releasing the letter as a sign of immaturity any more than I thought it was immature for Governor Palin to respond to the rumors.

    This morning while at the store I noticed a tabloid with the headline, “Obama’s gay lover living in White House! Michelle enraged!” It seems like the President is ignoring such headlines from sources he considers disreputable. Governor Palin might find it wise to follow his example. On her current course nearly every accusation, regardless of proof is guaranteed some national coverage.

  15. Americans have freedom of speech, but not freedom from consequences. Your own words can come back to haunt you, as speech works both ways.

  16. I heart librarians! and found your blog by way of the Immoral Minority blogroll this year, so I’m doubly pleased to read this post. Yall keep each other safe and honest up there – a bunch of us down here appreciate the hard work!

  17. Hi Jesse,

    In principle I agree with you. That’s why I support Governor Palin’s right to sue Gryphen if she feels she can prove libel or defamation. But I think our society would be much poorer if we made a practice of driving people from their jobs based on their politics. What happens when you move and people are loath to hire you because of your blog? I don’t think you should have to fear for your employment just because you write a strongly worded conservative blog or a strongly worded liberal blog. Now if you use your blog to criticize or ridicule your employers, then I think you’re fair game. And if you use your blog to highlight your illegal activities, then I hope the authorities read it and find you.

    Your words about not having freedom from consequences may also be applied to Governor Palin. She bases her political appeal on having a strong traditional family. She has said so publicly many times. While i don’t question personal lives until they interfere with one’s duty, it is logical for others to conclude that family based appeals are fair game for family analysis. Governor Palin can’t have it both ways any more than Gryphen can.

  18. To all who have been leaving positive comments. Thank you all very much. I just want to see people extend the same rights and consideration to others that they claim for themselves, regardless of party.

  19. Looks like Gryphen quit his job, he was not fired, or so he says. The truth is still a little murky here.

    I don’t think it is odd to question why a 48 yo male would be working as a part time teaching assistant. YOU jumped to the ped idea. I wondered what kind of ambition he had. How could he make a living? Only when I read all the sexual stuff on his blog did it start to seem a little concerning (to me) that he works with kids.

    So, he is responsible for losing his anonymity (he had a link to his blog on his facebook page) as well as his job-he resigned. To blame it on Palin or any other blogger is just false. If a public blog is going to post specualtions, with no proof, then anyone has a right to refute those rumors.

    I DO agree that people should not be threatening him or harassing his employer…er, former employer as it was. But I do feel that he put himself in the limelight with his blog , so all is fair as far as scrutinizing his life. People need to be responsible with their words.

  20. Thanks for saying what shouldn’t have to be said – that is speaking up for any male who chooses, against societal norms sadly, to work with children.

    Children can only benefit from having caring, intelligent men as part of their care taking and education team. It is a terrible thing that this obvious fact must be spelled out and explained today.

  21. Nako, I think the ped implication was clear from the “what was he doing working there?” and the “If my kids were at his school, I’d be worried.” Again, what counts is what happens in the classroom and his actual relationships with kids and not what he writes on his blog.

    I made no comment on his loss of anonymity. I’m not blaming that on anyone. My personal feeling is that adopting anonymity gives one a false sense of security. In the age of the internet, particularly when blogging against someone with devoted followers, any “secret identity” is bound to be uncovered. That’s why I blog under my own name. I don’t mind others trying to hide as long as they use a consistent handle, I just don’t think they’ll keep their identity under wraps for an extended period of time.

    Since all is fair in scrutinizing Gryphen’s life because of his blog, then is all fair in scrutinizing ex-Governor Palin’s life? After all she was a state governor and ran for national office? If all is fair in scrutinizing Palin’s life then why any response beyond “Put up or shut up?” for Gryphen?

  22. Hi Helen, I’m just uncomfortable when people appear to jump to conclusions based on one’s gender or age.

  23. ALibrarian-
    Palin (and everything she comes in contact with) has already been scrutinized and will continue to be by the likes of people like JG. If the blogs were sharing facts , it would be one thing.

    But, like an obsessed fan, every little piece of her life was discussed and speculated on in JG’s blog. Unfortunately, many of the lies that he posts, with promises of proof later, have been automatically assumed to be true by his readers. Rumors can ruin a repuation.

    I was horrified a while back when I came across some of his posts and others there. I posted that someday he might suffer a similar fate (being scrutinized unfairly) and now it has come true.

    Treat others as you want to be treated.

    Thank you for civil discussion…

  24. nako, your intimation that there is “all the sexual stuff” on Gryphen’s blog is an unsupported slur which I take offense to.

    I want to know EXACTLY what you are referring to that caused “start(ed) to seem a little concerning (to me) that he works with kids” as you posted above.

  25. TO Nako –

    Your intimation that there is “all the sexual stuff” on Gryphen’s blog is an unsupported slur which I find to be an outright lie.

    I want to know EXACTLY what you are referring to that caused you to say “Only when I read all the sexual stuff on his blog did it start to seem a little concerning (to me) that he works with kids.”

    I am looking forward to you explaining yourself so we can get to the bottom of these types of statements which I don’t believe will bear examination in the light. There also might be misunderstandings here which can be and need to be cleared up.

    I certainly hope you do not fall silent now.

  26. As a matter of principle, I am against outing bloggers or other writers who use pseudonyms, and as someone who was outed by some tea-bagging militia wannabe a few months ago, I can very much empathize with Gryphen. In a sense I’m a bit more fortunate in that the person who outed me is relatively small potatoes, and her attempts to get her readers to complain to what she thought was my employer (she just hit the wrong layer of state bureaucracy) fell flat. She did creep me out sufficiently (what she broadcast at her site got really personal, and I had to wonder if she planned to start also smearing members of my family, which worried me tremendously) that I ended up shutting down the old blog, scrubbed all potential identifying info from any posts from that blog before uploading them at their new location, and shutting down a website that I had used to communicate with students and colleagues at my local college (clearing all of that stuff off of Google’s cache was a real pain in the butt btw). In my particular case, I was being accused of being an a pro-Islamist, which in today’s post 9-11 Amerika is roughly the equivalent of being called pro-Communist in the McCarthy era, or pro-Jewish back in 1930s Germany.

    Personally, I think that whether or not the Palins divorce is little more than a sideshow, and personally couldn’t care less. The kind of right-wing populism that Palin espouses, her affiliation with a scare fringe sect of Christianity, and the parallels between her rhetoric and that of Iran’s president are all of far more interest. That said, I don’t think that Gryphen’s job should have been threatened (or potentially threatened) nor should he have been outed as a consequence of exercising his constitutional rights. Nor should he have to deal with accusations of pedophilia or other nonsense.

  27. thanks for responding nako. Please check back, as I will be dealing with this information quote by quote.

  28. It works both ways! So many posters on this blog also have been trying to get rid of Sarah Palin from here job. Well now she is gone, so why not leave her alone?

  29. Nako’s link ends up being to the site “The Other McCain” the well known racist, white supremacist blogger who formerly worked for the Washington Times, which you might or might not know nako is owned by the leader of the Moonies. I am not making that up. It is true. This blogger created an environment which promoted that Gryphen be physically, violently attacked. By the way, fair enough nako, I understand how you could find your way to that person’s blog and read the information. So here’s what I have to say about it.

    The damming information consist of 12 separate quotes from Gryphen from his blog going back as far as 4 years ago.

    3 of them discuss the fact that he works in a kindergarten class with nothing whatsoever sexual about them. Sample: “Yes I DO work in a Kindergarten class during the school year. My main job affords me some time during the day and I have chosen to use it teaching children to read, and helping them to become more independent.”

    1 of them is his blog header which states “What is morality? Who decides? Are we in charge of our own destiny? What is right? And what is wrong? Are these questions which can be answered? You betcha.”. Please note that this is read thousands of times every day with no one thinking much about it.

    2 discuss his identity and being “outed” as a blogger. Sample: “Having somebody reveal your “secret identity” can be a little unsettling . . .”

    1 of them utilizes the word uterus – He did not issue forth from Sarah Palin. . . . He was not conceived in her uterus. On that one fact I have absolutely no doubt.” Please note that uterus is not an obscene or sexual word.

    1 of them is clearly an attempt by “other McCain” to simply put down anything that connects sex and kids he can find in Gryphen’s blog. All of the fun of sex is drained by making all of these rules and labels. If sex is not naughty then it is almost not worth doing. I love kids, but in my opinion they are just a side effect of a healthy sex life.”

    2 discuss masturbating, one saying he promotes “self pleasure”, the other says if you get “busted” masturbating, ask for some privacy.

    Which leaves us now with 2 comments that are actually of a sexual nature. 2 passages out of thousands of pages that Gryphen has written in over 5 years. And what are they?

    1 says that he prefers amateur porn over professionally produced because he feels that the amateur couples do it for the sheer passion and excitement. Big whoop. It also says he feels a little guilty when watching regular porn because you don’t know if someone is a hurt party.

    The second says “I am teaching my boys to wear dresses and swish when they walk because being ignorant or drug addicted is no longer a guarantee of being passed over. If your not willing to suck cock then pack up your going to Iraq.”
    — “Gryphen,” a/k/a Jesse Griffin, June 10, 2005

    This is in response to tighter regulations passed for exemptions to military service. If you are gay, you are not allowed in the military. This sentence is said in anger at the tighter regulations. Go look up the original post.

    So, just as I thought, this damming trail of evidence that links Gyphen somehow to pedophilia in people’s minds is just a trail of junk, carefully crafted together to create an impression – the wrong one.

  30. I am really not trying to start anything or hog the blog. My first post was just to say that he (not Palin) was responsible for his own situation.

    I will confess to finding his blog more malicious than the other ‘Alaskan bloggers’ but I am always happy to see facts, thanks.

  31. well I am trying to address the issue. this area is for discussion, you are not hogging the blog.

    What is malicious here?

  32. Oh my bad, I misread what you wrote and thought you said “I confess to finding this blog ore malicious than the other(s)…” etc… now I see you said “his” blog.

  33. My other post was written before I saw your reply. While I don’t really want to get into a major back and forth, I will now reply to your last post.

    I don’t care who did the writing or where he used to work…The fact is, JG wrote posts about pornography and masturbating (which IS sexual). I am NOT accusing him of anything beyond that. If you think that is not a problem, then ok. I just happen to disagree. If Todd Palin had written this stuff you all would be up in arms calling him a perv.

    I leave agreeing to disagree.

  34. Helen, don’t worry…you seem able to discuss without insulting. Thank you.

  35. Nako – The McCain who you get your information directly from would never be approved to teach in any kindergarten class – he would not survive the background check. Yet you absorb and pass on his slanderous propaganda against a teacher with a good record as the source that shapes your thinking. Does this seem reasonable?

    Good luck and come back and “hog the blog” whenever you feel like it! ; )

  36. The above conversation between nako and Helen does help to illuminate the mindset of those who object to someone who discusses pornography, masturbation, and gay politics having contact with/ influencing children.

    The implication is that these are “bad” things. Because they are bad things, they should not be discussed frankly. Someone who discusses them frankly must be a bad person. A bad person should not be around children, not least of all because they might have frank discussions with children.

    And there, in a nutshell is the repressed logic of a social conservative.

    I happen, however, to think that frank, age appropriate discussions with children about sex and sexuality are a good thing. And if parents won’t do it, teachers may have to.

    So I reject both the premise (sex and sexuality should not be talked about) and the conclusion (Gryphen should not be around children).

    In fact, as a woman, I find Gryphen’s take on amateur pornography, masturbation, and sexuality refreshingly honest and sensitive. Maybe it’s not something that kindergarteners are ready to hear, but something that a child old enough to be surfing the internet without supervision (and that’s down to parents) is ready to hear.

  37. Helen-Sorry, I am back.
    First of all, do you deny that JG wrote those things on his blog? It doesn’t matter who exposed them, he wrote that stuff. Shooting down the author doesn’t change that.

    Second, you make an accusation about McCain…do you have proof that the author wouldn’t pass a background check or are you just suggesting he wouldn’t? If yes, I would like to read about it.

    Third-Problem child..I disagree with you but there is no need to put a negative label on me i.e. repressed. I happen to think that in addition to his sexual talk, he posts a lot of hate on his site. If you wouldn’t mind your children around that, fine. I just happen to disagree. I don’t need to slam you with an insult because we disagree. Respect can be had.

    Btw, I would guess most parents, no matter liberal or conservative, would not appreciate a ‘frank’ sex talk between a teaching assistant and a student, no matter what grade. It is not his job to be doing that- anyway I never suggested he would do that, you did. Just responding to your comfort with it. Good day.

  38. The reality is, if you work with kids, you need to take care because appearances DO count. Remember, the free speech clause only applies to the government not restricting it.

    Words have consequences, as many other exposed bloggers have found out.

    Never write something that you would not like your boss, parents, grandparents, kids, etc. to read and be attributed to you.

    Jesse made that mistake.

  39. nako here’s your answers –

    According to a nationwide criminal database Stacy McCain is guilty of driving at high speed (20 over the limit or more) in 2007 and on a *suspended* registration this year. The latter is a serious offense – registrations can be suspended due to failure to appear for a court appearance, failure to provide proof of insurance, etc. With a court record, he would not pass a kindergarten teacher’s background check. I have not done further criminal research, but a quick check online uncovers this from Wikipedia, and from the hate speech elements of his bio alone, McCain would not be deemed fit to teach kindergarten in a USA public school.

    “McCain has been criticized by the Southern Poverty Law Center, who called him a member of the white supremacist hate group, League of the South and “has often inserted excerpts of material written by hate groups” into the Times. “In addition, McCain is the only national reporter to cover four conferences put on by American Renaissance. Until 2004, McCain had never mentioned its controversial nature.” [30]

    In a comment posted on February 20 2009, McCain seemed to advocate the massacre of the Palestinian inhabitants of the West Bank and Gaza:”

    As to your direct question to me: I fail to understand how you ask me if I’m denying Gryphen made the comments.
    I clearly stated the nature of the comments and also made note that they were patched together in such a way by McCain so as to lead readers like you down a rosy garden path of hate, creating an implication on McCain’s blog of pedophilila which whipped up hateful and violent sympathies towards Gryphen.

    This is the stuff of witch hunts, nako and you are better than that.

  40. “According to a nationwide criminal database Stacy McCain is guilty of driving at high speed (20 over the limit or more) in 2007 and on a *suspended* registration this year. The latter is a serious offense – registrations can be suspended due to failure to appear for a court appearance, failure to provide proof of insurance, etc. With a court record, he would not pass a kindergarten teacher’s background check.”

    Helen, you are wrong here. A criminal record does NOT automatically disqualify you from obtaining educational clearance in all 50 states. A FELONY record probably would but show me a FELONY conviction because misdemeanors don’t impede the clearance.

    The “registration suspension” was probably related to the lack of insurance. In many states, Big Brother IS watching you. If your insurance lapses, you are immediately reported to the state and the state will suspend registration unless you can prove you have coverage during the time specified. I know this because I had a car titled in California and it was in storage until I moved and my current address was in another state. CA DMV suspended my registration because they couldn’t find evidence of my insurance (through a collector car policy in another state). Once I sent them proof of this, they reinstated it. However, during that time, that car would have been illegal to drive on public roads.

    But it wouldn’t have stopped me from getting a background clearance from the FBI for working in my state as a public school teacher.

    I know this because I have the clearance myself.

  41. Hi Helen, I really appreciate you taking the time to analyze Gryphen’s posts and the Other McCain’s use of them.

  42. Actually Helen, in my state he would pass the background check. Here is what will disqualify you:

    No person subject to this act shall be employed in a public or private school,
    intermediate unit or area vocational-technical school where the report of criminal
    history record information indicates the applicant has been convicted, within
    five (5) years immediately preceding the date of the report, of any of the
    following offenses:

    (1) An offense under one or more of the following provisions of Title 18 of the
    ————– Consolidated Statutes:

    Chapter 25 (relating to criminal homicide).
    Section 2702 (relating to aggravated assault).
    Former section 2709(b) (relating to stalking).
    Section 2709.1 (relating to stalking).
    Section 2901 (relating to kidnapping).
    Section 2902 (relating to unlawful restraint).
    Section 3121 (relating to rape).
    Section 3122.1 (relating to statutory sexual assault).
    Section 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse).
    Section 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault).
    Section 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault).
    Section 3126 (relating to indecent assault).
    Section 3127 (relating to indecent exposure).
    Section 4302 (relating to incest).
    Section 4303 (relating to concealing death of child).
    Section 4304 (relating to endangering welfare of children).
    Section 4305 (relating to dealing in infant children).
    A felony offense under section 5902(b) (relating to prostitution and
    related offenses).
    Section 5903(c) or (d) (relating to obscene and other sexual materials
    and performances).
    Section 6301 (relating to corruption of minors).
    Section 6312 (relating to sexual abuse of children).

    I would guess that if traffic tickets disqualified you, they might have a hard time finding enough people to teach! That is a joke…

    As far as McCain’s politics, okay, it seems he might have some extreme, views although I didn’t have time to check out a lot of resources to ensure a balanced picture. Your info is from one source, Wikopedia… I will continue to get a gauge on this guy.

    Anyway, it doesn’t change the facts about JG. He posts things I think are innapropriate and mean. My opinion, nothing more. No other claims have been made by me.

    I am sure people are getting bored with us/me, so I hope to stop with this post. We will not agree, and that’s ok, as Stewart Smalley used to say. (Al Franken for anyone too young to remember..) Thanks for the discussion.

  43. Helen, really sorry, one last thing. It was interesting to me as I reread your post, that if you insert gryphen’s name instead of McCain…it applies to Gryph’s blog as well.

    ” the nature of the comments and that they were patched together in such a way by Gryphen so as to lead readers like you down a rosy garden path of hate, creating an implication on Gryphen’s blog of pedophilila, incest (yes these two were in his blog posts) and infidelity which whipped up hateful and violent sympathies towards Palin.

    This is the stuff of witch hunts….”

    Exactly the point. This is how I see Gryph’s blog.

  44. “Hi Jesse,

    In principle I agree with you. That’s why I support Governor Palin’s right to sue Gryphen if she feels she can prove libel or defamation. But I think our society would be much poorer if we made a practice of driving people from their jobs based on their politics. What happens when you move and people are loath to hire you because of your blog? I don’t think you should have to fear for your employment just because you write a strongly worded conservative blog or a strongly worded liberal blog. Now if you use your blog to criticize or ridicule your employers, then I think you’re fair game. And if you use your blog to highlight your illegal activities, then I hope the authorities read it and find you.

    Your words about not having freedom from consequences may also be applied to Governor Palin. She bases her political appeal on having a strong traditional family. She has said so publicly many times. While i don’t question personal lives until they interfere with one’s duty, it is logical for others to conclude that family based appeals are fair game for family analysis. Governor Palin can’t have it both ways any more than Gryphen can.”

    You are right, people should not necessarily lose their jobs for their opinions, except in very extreme circumstances. If I admit to illegal acts online, then indeed I should be investigated. If I criticize my employer, then I should be ready to take the ensuing heat.

    I don’t know the full circumstances behind Griffin’s resignation. However, I’m not entirely naive, and I’ve witnessed cases where an employee was given the choice of either being fired or quitting voluntarily. This is all done behind closed doors. No one else finds out usually, unless the person quitting decides to tell all (and I’ve had this happen recently).

    Maybe the school caved into pressure. Maybe they found something they didn’t like on his blog. Maybe Griffin intended on resigning all along. The fact remains though, is that the original firestorm that started this is his posting of a story that has yet to be substantitated in any meaningful way.

    This caused a major backlash amongst conservative bloggers, who were determined to fight back against what they perceive as unwarranted personal attacks against the Palins. This all out attack against Griffin was not soley against his blog. To conservatives, Griffin’s blog was a proxy for every Alaskan blog that has criticized Sarah Palin. I would be lying if I would not count myselves as sympathetic to their cause.

    I found Griffin’s original post about the Palin’s divorce to be highly suspucious and deceptive because it flew in the face of all available evidence. I responded to it in turn, and would not hide what I thought of a story I thought despicable given what I saw to be a lack of standards.

    Did Griffin deserve all this uproar? I think so, as he inserted himself into the public debate in a contraversial manner, and as a result some serious fallout can ensue. That’s just the way life works.

  45. McCain + American Renaissance tells me all I need to know.

  46. Ha ha nako – see no boredom here ! we can go on and on…and sometimes some issues require it amazingly enough. Yes, hate speech can work both ways, like anything and in my book, Gryphen does not participate in it, as he does not call for mass murder, racism or white supremacy, he talks about a now disgraced (in many people’s minds) public official who has a long list of corruption and lies to her credit.

    What I appreciate is your spirited but civilized defense, and looking up info for me to check out, I am interested in your point of view. I like the kind of exchanges that could theoretically be made in a tavern over a glass of wine without anyone getting upset. I have gone a couple of times to C4P and never have been able to “russel up” anyone there who can talk about issues without insults and descending frankly, into some form of low level madness. So it has been a good exchange.

    Ciaow for now : )

  47. Also meant to add –

    Don Durito – Wow what a story – thanks very much for sharing

    Jan – if you have a moment, stop by nailinpalinnow.blogspot.com and you will see an example of exactly what you ask about.

    AK Librarian – a well written post with that I appreciate. I’ve never been here before so we have Gyphen’s flap to credit for bringing many new readers to all of our sites and getting us out and about more to each other’s sites as well. Cheers.

  48. Not a problem, Helen. If nothing else, I learned how to make it less convenient for that particular bozo to access the new blog or any other website that I might set up in the future. I found, for instance, a nifty IP address blocker (just in case that person finds my new location, she’ll just get an advertisement site instead). Since I had to create a new site for my students (I like to give students access to electronic copies of syllabi and lecture outlines, as well as access to whatever journal articles I’ve authored or co-authored), I learned how to insert some code to prevent search engines from archiving the website. Between that and the IP address blocker, I should be in good shape – hopefully will prevent that same kook from uploading my copyrighted materials onto her site w/o permission (btw, ISPs and blog hosts will do squat about that). Nothing’s foolproof of course. Beats being a victim, I guess.

Comments are closed.

