• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Filter Sarah Palin Through Galatians 5

Now that Sarah Palin is a private citizen, I can now criticize her without breaking my rule of not criticizing my state’s elected officials.  I am also rescinding the “no comments” policy about Palin. If you want to talk about her here, assuming she’s relevant to the conversation, go ahead.

For the record, I was a major Governor Palin fan until June 2008, before she was selected to be McCain’s running mate.

When she was first elected I was impressed how she was able to put what I considered to be a pro-Alaska agenda through the Legislature with the support of both parties.

I was proud to see her walk her anti-abortion talk. I believe Trig is her baby and I wish the whole family well.

How I became disenchanted with Sarah Palin is worth several blog entries, which I’m not sure I’m going to write. As I said, I started having doubts about her before McCain picked her, but the 2008 campaign was the last straw.  I hated the way she demonized her opponents. It made me sick to hear her claim that the only “real Americans” were the ones who thought like her.  She was treated unfairly by the press at times, but a mature Christian should have known better than to respond in kind.

And that brings me to the point of today’s blog entry.  Sarah Palin has built herself up as a Christian politician led by God.
I beg every Sarah Palin supporter whose support is based on Palin being a strong Christian to take everything that Palin says and put it through the filter of Galatians 5: 19-23 (bolding mine):

19 Now the works of the flesh are obvious: immorality, impurity, licentiousness,

20 idolatry, sorcery, hatreds, rivalry, jealousy, outbursts of fury, acts of selfishness, dissensions, factions,

21 occasions of envy, drinking bouts, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I warned you before, that those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God.

22 In contrast, the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness,

23 gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.

In her public statements dealing with people who disagree with her, I see very little love, patience, kindness or generosity. From her recent speeches and Twitter stream, I see plenty that I think could be reasonably construed as hatred or outbursts of fury.

Maybe you don’t see what I see. That’s fine. But keep Galatians 5 in mind as you listen to Mrs. Palin or any other politician who claims Christ as their savior. It should make a difference in their lives. I’m not saying that Palin isn’t a Christian, only that I’m uncertain how her faith translates into action.

I don’t plan to blog much about Sarah Palin. Given what I’ve heard of her farewell speech, I *might* come back with a post analyzing it in terms of truthfulness and civility. I may blog if I hear a statement of her’s that seems easily falsifiable and it hasn’t been refuted yet.

Otherwise, my current plans are not to write about Sarah Palin any more often than I’d write about Ann Coulter unless Mrs. Palin becomes the Republican nominee in 2012. Will I talk about her then? You Betcha!

10 Responses

  1. Thank you. I hope more people who previously supported Palin have seen the light. I really wanted her to be a beacon of hope for womankind – an honest, intelligent and thoughtful candidate to represent us. I watched in horror as she riled up angry mobs (at her rallies) and seemed unable to communicate in a constructive manner. I believe she will continue to spew her hateful comments throughout the U.S. May God protect us all from Mrs. Palin and her uninformed, dangerous followers.

  2. Hopefully, there will be more people to speak out against Sarah now that she is no longer governor. She is no Christian, just as GWB is not a true Christian, and I believe we will see more evidence in this statement in the weeks/months to come.

  3. Thank you for speaking out. I admire you for having respect for her when she was in office. It’s too bad she doesn’t feel the same about our elected president. It’s ok to disagree politically but I find her comments treasonous and antiAmerican. I am tired of her antiWashington rants as well. What happened to respect and working together.
    I happen to believe that Trig is not hers. There is simply too much evidence that he is really Bristols first baby. I respect your opinion though and I wish the best to all the Palin children. If Sarah didn’t want anyone talking about them, she could have made the chioice 98% of politicians do and keep her children out of the limelight. She put them there front and center for her own political pupise. She is simply too thin skinned to be in politics. I hope and pray Sarah Palin has learned this, but somehow I doubt this.

  4. I agree in a fashion. I’m not going to comment on her because she is a private citizen, Unless she says or writes something in a public forum where it’s appropriate to comment publicly.

    I’m not a Christian but I’m going to appropriate

    Galatians 5: 22-23

    22 In contrast, the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness,
    23 gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.

    as good standards to try and live up to.

    When I read Spirit in that context, I interpret it as the “Human Spirit”. But I join with Christians or anyone else who truly try to live up to that standard.

  5. Thank you — I appreciate this more than you know. This is my impression of Obama:

    22 In contrast, the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness,

    23 gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.

  6. Hi Lana,

    Thanks for stopping by. I’d avoid calling Palin treasonous and anti-American. That’s the treatment we got from the President and his supporters for eight years and I’m not anxious to dole it out to others. Let’s just limit ourselves to the policies and unhelpful rhetoric she uses.

  7. Hi Nancy,

    Thanks for stopping by. I feel like I need to point out that no one’s perfect, including Obama. One could argue that self-control got away from him somewhat with the Cambridge police matter. But what I appreciate is that he stepped back from his comments and reached out to both sides. If his response is good enough for the police union, its good enough for me.

  8. Thank you for such a thoughtful, insightful post. You and I may not agree on everything, but on this, I’m with you 100%.

    There have been a lot of words spoken by avowed Christians that do not sound like any kind of Christianity I’m familiar with. So it’s very reassuring to find this entry.

    These words are a very good standard to hold next to a candidate. They’re very good to hold next to one’s own self, as well. Again, thank you.

    Nan

  9. I have to agree with you I have never said anything bad or blogged about a president or my governor no matter how I felt,Take the second Clinton years I did not vote for him the second time but neither did I rant against him as he was our president no matter how I felt about him personally.Since Ms Palin is not my governor but I have family in Alaska for some 35 years I do keep track of what is going on and IMO Ms Palin bought most if not all of the negative press down on herself.

  10. Thanks for your comments. I want to make it clear that it was the fact that Sarah Palin was a governor, but the fact that I work for the State of Alaska. All my adult life I’ve made it a practice never to publicly criticize the elected officials of the jurisdiction I worked for. For example, when President Clinton attacked Sudan in 1998 in an apparent effort to divert attention from his sex scandal, I kept quiet. I kept quiet because at the time I was a civilian employee in the Air Force.

Comments are closed.

