• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Real Sovereignty for Iraq, at Last

As far as I can tell from news reports, the United States has kept its word in following the US-Iraqi Status of Forces Agreement and has pulled out of Iraqi cities as of June 30th except for a few instances where the government of Iraq asked them to stay. Again, from public reports, the requests for some units to stay in some places seems to be a genuine Iraqi request.

Although violence continues, most Iraqis celebrated June 30th. I think as well they should. If we were under foreign occupation, I’d want the occupiers to leave even if violence increased. I suspect most Americans would feel the same.

Congratulations to Iraq on their newfound sovereignty. What they do with their country is up to them. So far it isn’t looking that good to me, but it’s their choice and not ours.

