• Categories

  • Housekeeping

We are not a people who fear the future


Happy 4th of July everyone! Earlier this week I started sketching out a blog posting about today about all the people we need to thank for our freedom and independence we first earned 233 years ago.

But I’m currently joining about 650,000 of my fellow Alaskans in processing the puzzling news of our Governor’s resignation and don’t have extra writing capacity at the moment.

Fortunately, President Obama’s Independence Day greeting celebrates many of the qualities of America I intended to highlight today. My favorite line from this speech was:

“We are not a people who fear the future. We are a people who make it.”

Speeches like this remind me of why I voted for President Obama. The proclamations that we should be fearful and rely on the government’s power have been replace with acknowledgment that our “can-do” spirit can overcome serious problems. And that the solutions to our problems will be a group effort with meaningful citizen participation.

Although I have posted the video, I encourage you to read the full transcript.

Happy Fourth of July everyone!

