• Categories

  • Housekeeping

A Gastineau Meadow

A Gastineau Meadow

Originally uploaded by AlaskanLibrarian

Time for a change of pace, don’t you agree?

This picture is from a two hour walk I took today along Juneau’s newest official hiking trail. The trail is called Gastineau Meadows and is off Crowhill St in Douglas. You can see many more pictures from the trail from my Gastineau Meadows June 2009 set on Flickr.

The trailhead is a 35-40 minute walk from my house and a nice walk in its own right. The Gastineau Meadows trail is roughly 4,700 feet and intersects with Juneau’s Treadwell Ditch Trail while providing nice views of meadows and surrounding mountains. The Treadwell Ditch Trail in turn intersects with the trails for Mt. Jumbo and the Dan Moller Cabin. I’m very excited about this trail because it gives me access to most of the Douglas Island trail system without needing my car. Theoretically I can do this with the Mt. Jumbo trail, but the turnoff for the Treadwell Ditch trail isn’t obvious to me.

I’m thinking that the Gastineau Meadows trail is going to be a summer workhorse for me as well as good early training for the harder trails that only open up in late summer.

Have you hiked in Juneau or else in Southeast Alaska? What is your favorite day hike?

