• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Dr. Tiller Victim of Culture of Death

Dr. George Tiller,  a Kansas abortion provider was murdered today. His killer, far from being a pro-lifer, was in fact an ambassador for the Culture of Death. The Culture of Death’s chief tenant is that killing is an acceptable solution to problems. It gives rise to abortion, wars of aggression,torture, the death penalty and euthanasia.

You cannot be pro-life and be in favor of destroying it to advance your goals. Anyone who tells you different is deceiving himself.

The Culture of Death does not start with a gun. It starts with an attitude and with the demonization of others. For example, the anti-abortion movement is currently running an “empty envelope” campaign to the White House. The message to President Obama ends with “I pray every day that your modern day slaughter of the innocents will end!” And it accuses his policies of causing the slaughter of millions of extra babies.

Rhetoric like this matters. And it feeds directly into the cult of demonization and glorification of violence where people are no longer murderers in their own eyes but avenging angels . That isn’t the intention of the empty envelope campaign, but when rhetoric like that meets with the bedrock American belief that only violence saves, it’s not surprising people die.

I realize that I’m ranting a bit here, but I’m just so frustrated when the violence driven Culture of Death represents itself as the Culture of Life. The Culture of Life doesn’t take life. That’s why we refer to it as the Culture of Life.

I’m also posting my first thoughts because in no way do I want my silence construed as consent. I don’t believe in abortion. I work for the day when the very idea of killing one’s unborn child is as unthinkable as killing a baby who has been born. I don’t think we can legislate our way there. And I certainly don’t think that the way to gain respect for the unborn life we cannot see is by taking the lives of people we can see.

6 Responses

  1. I agree.

  2. A brave and sane response to a cowardly and crazy act.

  3. I’ve been posting about Obama’s silence, as Commander in Chief, about the death of Pvt. William Long. The man certainly knows who his supporters are. Can’t even speak out against gunning down American servicemen in our own country.

  4. Obama hasn’t been silent. See the AP story “Obama ‘deeply saddened’ by recruiter shooting” posted 6/4/2009. He said about the men:

    Obama described Army Pvts. William Andrew Long and Quinton I. Ezeagwula as “two brave young soldiers who were doing their part to strengthen our armed forces and keep our country safe.”

    If there were major talk show hosts calling recruiters Nazis on an ongoing basis, the President might have to make more statements. But aside from a few deranged individuals, there is general agreement that killing military recruiters is wrong. On the other hand, there is a substantial minority who feel that killing abortion providers is justifiable homicide. Hence the need for the bully pulpit.

  5. Once again, I’m impressed by your ability to seek the truth, rather than to inflame passions unnecessarily.

  6. Hi Amanda,

    I appreciate the compliment, but I’m only doing what I think other people should be doing. People should research the facts and assume that your intellectual opponent is a person of goodwill and not an ambassador of Satan. I don’t always get this right, but I know I have to make the effort.

Comments are closed.

