• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Backyard Tides

Backyard Tides in Douglas Alaska

Here is my first tide video produced from the photos I took on Tuesday, May 5, 2009. I know it’s not close to perfect, but I hope it gives you an idea of the breadth of tides here in Southeast Alaska.

The video is composed of 10 photographs of the area in the back of the building I live in and 10 photographs of a tide gauge near my house.

The photography project consisted of my getting up at 5am so I could photograph the tide gauge at low tide at 5:16am. I then did a circuit of four photo stations – 1) The tide gauge, 2) My back yard (seen in this video), 3) Douglas Harbor and 4) Sandy Beach. It took me a little over 15 minutes to get to all four stations. After one photo run, I’d go back to my apartment for a ten minute rest break. I estimate I racked up about eight miles of walking between 5:15 and 11:30, when I stopped my photography at high tide.

Stay tuned for similar videos for Douglas Harbor and Sandy Beach.

