• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Movie Review: Wordplay

I recently watched the film:

Creadon, Patrick, Will Shortz, Merl Reagle, and Patricia Erens. 2006. Wordplay. [New York, N.Y.]: Weinstein Co. Home Entertainment.

It is a great documentary film for language buffs like me. The film takes place around a crossword puzzle tournament that has been going on for three decades. The film follows contestants and has interviews with celebrities on crosswords. There are also some scenes where you see the evolution of the modern crossword puzzle and see how puzzles get made. I thought it was fun. If you’d like more substantive analysis, click on the word wordplay above. That will take you to metacritic.com, my favorite review site. As with most of the stuff I review, it is available through your library. If it’s not on the shelf, try interlibrary loan.

