• Categories

  • Housekeeping

2008 for me

Once again it is time to reflect on the year now ending. Let’s start with the meme of the first post from every month:

What did people find interesting about my blog? Here are the top five blog posts by popularity for the last year:

Title Views
three cups of tea study guide 986
Book Review: The Post-American World 915
Book Review: Three Cups of Tea 591
Alaska Election Results & Party Regi 484
alaska voter turnout 414

I am happy that I may have had a role in getting people to learn more about Three Cups of Tea and the work of Greg Mortensen.

So much for my virtual life. What about RL? 2008 had a few milestones for me. I celebrated my 10th anniversary with my current employer. I never dreamed I’d be ANYWHERE for ten years. I’ve held three jobs in my time with my library. In November, one of my coworkers gave me a can of Coke with a little note that tin was the gift for the tenth anniversary. I celebrated my first year as section chief for Information Services in September. One of my coworkers gave me a can of Coke with a little note that tin was the gift for the tenth anniversary.

In June, I traveled to Anaheim to accept my 2008 Library Journal Mover and Shaker award as one of 50 librarians selected by the magazine. At the time I told close friends that it seemed like a lifetime achievement award and that my career had no where to go but down. Thankfully I’m over that. Whether or not I receive another award I have faith that I’ve got decades in my chosen vocation.

