• Categories

  • Housekeeping

DBAA: University of Alaska Databases (Need More)

We conclude our look at publicly searchable databases produced by Alaska state agencies with this list of four databases listed under the University of Alaska section of the the Alaska page of the State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States Project.

  • AEIC Earthquake Database Search – Database from the Alaska Earthquake Information Center that contains earthquake locations from 01/1898 through 10/31/2011. Database is searchable by date, magnitude, location (latitude/longitude) and earthquake depth.
  • Alaska K-12 Science Curricular Initiative (AKSCI) – Searchable database of Alaska tailored science lessons. Use the “advanced” search tab to search by Alaska Grade Level Expectation Category, Grade Level, Lesson Title, or by Keyword. Can also browse lesson plans.
  • Alaska & Polar Periodical Index – Index to journals, magazines and newsletters relating to Alaska and the Earth’s polar regions. Coverage goes back decades. Results show availability in University of Alaska Fairbanks Rassmuson Library, but many articles are available elsewhere or through interlibrary loan.
  • Hubert Wenger Eskimo Database Database of approximately 200 books and journal articles relating to first or early European contact with Alaska’s Native peoples. Basic search allows one to search by keyword, Alaska Native group, author and publication date.

I feel confident there are many more publicly searchable databases produced by the University of Alaska that are not represented here. If you are aware of any, please let me know as  I’m still very much engaged in keeping the Alaska databases page up to date.

To get a sense of the databases produced by other state supported university systems, go to the main state agency databases project page and try searching “university of” and click on the results from state pages.

DBAA: Technology Transfer Library Search

On the Alaska page of the State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States Project, the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities (DOTPF) only has one database represented:

Technology Transfer Library Search – From the website: “This library contains over 1100 resources which can be downloaded from the web or requested through us. Use this library to search for Alaska DOT&PF reports & manuals, audio/video tapes, interactive resources, and software.”

If you are aware of other, publically searchable databases produced by the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, please let me know. I’m still very much engaged in keeping the Alaska databases page up to date.

DBAA: Unclaimed Property Searchable Database

On the Alaska page of the State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States Project, the Department of Revenue only has one database represented:

Unclaimed Property Searchable Database – Does Alaska owe you or your business money? Search this database by name to find out. Alaska has partnered with missingmoney.com as part of a national unclaimed property database.

If you are aware of other, publically searchable databases produced by the Alaska Department of Revenue, please let me know. I’m still very much engaged in keeping the Alaska databases page up to date.

Update 6/10/2012: Based on Mary Pittman’s comment below, here’s a link to the Alaska Court Directory, which has contacts for Clerks of Court within Alaska. For other states, a search engine search in the form of [state] “clerk of court” or [county name] “clerk of court” ought to bring up appropriate contact information.

 

DBAA: Sex Offender/Child Kidnapper Database

On the Alaska page of the State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States Project, the Department of Public Safety only has one database represented:

Sex Offender/Child Kidnapper Registration Central Registry – This registry includes offenders who have been convicted of sex offenses specified under AS 12.63.100 who have registered and those who are required to register but may not be in compliance. Searchable by name and location. Databases include current address and often photos of registrant.

If you are aware of other, PUBLICALLY searchable databases produced by the Alaska Department of Public Safety, please let me know.

DBAA: Online Public Notices

Our next stop on the Alaska page of the State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States Project is:

Alaska Public Notices – List of all official public notices in Alaska State Government. Allows for notification updates by RSS and email. Dropdown search by category, department or publish date. A keyword search is also available. Categories of notices include: Agency Meetings,  Attorney General Opinions, Boards & Commissions, Grants, Procurement, Public Notices, Licensing Examinations, and Regulations.

By law, agencies in Alaska are required to post notices of activities in several places. The repository for all public notices is the Online Public Notice system run by the Lt. Governor’s Office. Here you will find all active public notices plus archived notices back to 2000. Prior to 2000, these announcements were posted in the Alaska Administrative Journal (AAJ). The Online Public Notice system does link to an AAJ archive and the AAJ is also available at Alaska Depository Libraries.

This is also the place to learn about proposed regulations before they are adopted, by looking through the section: Regulations: Notice of Proposed Regulations. The proposed regulation notices are sorted by date, then by department. Each notice will summarize the proposed regulatory change and link to the proposed text and in some cases, other background material. The notice will also tell you how and where to comment.

Check it out. Come back and leave a comment if something surprised you.

DBAA: Alaska Local and Regional Information

Our next stop on the Alaska page of the State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States Project is:

Alaska Local and Regional Information – Searchable by region, borough/census area and census place. Includes data on unemployment, number of businesses, building permits, property values and much more.

This database provides in-depth economic snapshots of a community. These snapshots come with graphs that compares the community to statewide statistics. So you can do things like compare the wage distribution of a given community with Alaska as a whole.

The snapshots are also handy in quickly determining the major employers and industry sectors for a given community or region. For example, here are the top 10 employers in the Fairbanks North Star Borough:

University of AK
Fairbanks North Star School District
State of AK (excludes U of A)
Banner Health System
Fred Meyer Stores Inc
Wal-Mart Associates Inc
FBKS North Star Borough
FBKS Gold Mining Inc
Tanana Chiefs Conference
Safeway Inc

To see a snapshot, you must first choose a geographic unit and click on “go.” You should see the middle of the screen change from “Alaska” to the region, borough or place you chose. Then select the topics you are interested in. You can draw information from the following areas: Worker characteristics, Occupations, Industries, Employers, Unemployment rate, Population estimates, Rental information, New housing units, Tax, Property value, 2010 Census and Migration. Then click on the “next” button for your snapshot.

Next week we’ll examine occupations in detail.

DBAA: Where to Turn

Our next stop on the Alaska page of the State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States Project is:

Where to Turn – From the website, “Alaska’s Resource for For Children and Adults with Disabilities. Prepared to help you find the resources that may be needed for a child or adult who experiences a physical, mental, or emotional disability.” Database may be browsed by topic or searched by keyword, exact phrase or by zip code. Records contain organization contact information, website, description and categories of service provided.

Next week we start exploring databases from the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

 

DBAA: EMS Provider Search

Our next stop on the Alaska page of the State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States Project is:

EMS Provider Database – Search for EMS applicants by last name, level (type of certification) and region. Search results include name, certification number, level, effective date and expiration date.

In addition to allowing outside parties to determine whether a given person has a particular certification, this database provides persons with EMS certifications the ability to review their own record. This function requires a MyAlaska login.

Next week we’ll check out a database that locates help for Alaskan children and adults with disabilities.

DBAA: Child Care Facilities Database

Our next stop on the Alaska page of the State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States Project is:

Child Care Facilities Database – Database of licensed child care facilities in the State of Alaska. Database may be searched by facility name, provider name, city and zip code. Entries include information on facility’s current legal status.

Next week we’ll search for certified EMS providers.

DBAA: Fish Count Database

Our next stop on the Alaska page of the State Agency Databases Across the Fifty States Project is:

Fish Count Database – The department counts the numbers of migrating fish, primarily salmon, using weirs, sonars and counting towers in a number of streams throughout Alaska. Searchable by location, species and  year using drop-down menus. Information is presented in tables and graphs.

This database is fairly self explanatory. It is not meant to be comprehensive. It only includes sites that  “for which inseason data is readily accessible.”

Next week we begin examining databases of the Department of Health and Social Services, starting with a Child Care Facility Locator.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 275 other followers

%d bloggers like this: