• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Daniel Cornwall:

Lots of good advice for presenters in any field.

Originally posted on Geeky Artist Librarian:

We’ve all sat through tedious presentations with text-heavy slides and a monotone, stagnant speaker. How do you keep from becoming that speaker yourself? Here are my personal strategies for presenting well.

Writing the Presentation Proposal

Proposals are typically short, limiting you to 100, 250, or 500 words. So take the cue and be to-the-point about your topic, avoid “scholarly” lingo if possible. My typical mind-frame is imagining I’m describing the topic to a friend. You want to be engaging and explain why people should care about your topic.
Presenting1
The only real rule I have about proposals is to send them. You’ll never be accepted if you don’t at least try, and I’ve been surprised by the number of times my proposals have been accepted…

View original 1,557 more words

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers

