• Categories

  • Housekeeping

Three Things I Didn’t Know About Iran

I recently started reading a new acquisition of my library’s Federal Depository Library’s collection:

Curtis, G. E., & Hooglund, E. J. (2008). Iran: A country study. Area handbook series. Washington, DC: Library of Congress, Federal Research Division.

So far, I’ve only made it through the introduction and already I’ve learned three new things about Iran:

  • Persians only make up about 65% of the Iranian population.
  • The voting age in Iran is 16.
  • The President of Iran, currently Mr. Ahmadinejad, does not command Iran’s military, nor does he pick the leaders of Iran’s armed services. He also has no control over the judiciary. These and other roles (declaring war and peace and setting general state policy among them) are delegated to the (supreme) Leader under the Iranian constitution. The post of Leader was originally filled by Ayatollah Khomeini and is currently filled by Ayatollah Ali Khamenei.

If you already knew this stuff, consider yourself well informed. While I’m not sure I’ll write a book review about this volume when I’m done, I may post other items from this work if they’re interesting.

2 Responses

  1. Voters might remember when Katami (considered moderate) had Ahmadinejad’s job and tried to make overtures under Clinton, Republicans said it was a waste of time because the position has no real power. Iranians liken the position to a big city mayor. When it suited the government’s purpose, all of a sudden this position was a huge threat. Another fact you will find- we (CIA) overthrew their democratically elected president in the early 50’s and brought back the young playboy Shah ( a ruthless dictator) and another fact- Iran has never invaded a foreign country- wars have been defensive. I am not Iranian, but make great efforts to inform myself about countries our government says is a threat.

  2. Thanks for stopping by. I didn’t mention our 1953 coup against Iran because I knew about that. People who are more interested in this episode can look up the Iran coup briefing book at George Washington University at http://www.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/NSAEBB/NSAEBB28/.

    I commend you for researching countries our gov’t claims are threats and think more people should do so.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

